After +2

Fee hike in Govt/Aided Engineering colleges


June 17, 2014 : The fee for B.Tech Programmes and B.Arch Programme in Government/Aided Engineering Colleges has been hiked. The revised fee for 2014-15 admissions would be Rs.8225/- against the existing fee of Rs.6200/-.

This has been notified in the Centralised Allotment Process (CAP) Notification 2014 issued by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations, available at the website. There is no change in fee for B Tech Agricultural Engineering (Rs.9000/- per Semester); B Tech Dairy Science & Technology (Rs.3100/- per Semester) and B Tech Food Engg (Rs.26500/- per semester). Details can be had from

As per the notification, the fee in Government/University Controlled Self-financing Engineering Colleges will continue to be Rs.35,000/- in 50% Government Quota seats and Rs.65000/- in the 35% Management seats (25% Management seats in respect of SCT College of Engineering, Trivandrum), both of which would be allotted by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations. In respect of the 12 colleges coming under the Kerala Catholic Engineering College Managements Association (KCECMA), the fee payable by all the students would be Rs.75000/- per annum.

All students other than those allotted by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations who belong to SC/ST/OEC or Fishermen Community will have to make an interest-free deposit of Rs.1,00,000/- . In the 105 colleges under Kerala Self Financing Engineering College Managements Association (KSFECMA), in every batch of 60 students, 30 seats (50%) would be allotted as Government seats by the CEE. In 25% seats (15), the annual fee would be Rs.50,000/- for lower income group students while for other 25% (15 seats), it would be Rs.75000/- which includes a yearly special fee of Rs.25000/-.

For Naval Architecture and Ship Building Course, this would be Rs.80,000/- and Rs.1,20,000/- (inclusive of special fee of Rs.40000/-). However, those eligible for this concession would be identified institution wise, only after the allotments are completed. Hence candidates should remit the full fee at the time of joining the college. Balance fee will be refunded to the candidates. Those who get allotment in these 117 Private Self-financing Engineering Colleges should remit Rs.10,000/- in favour of the CEE, Trivandrum at specified branches of SBT. The balance fee and deposit has to be remitted in the concerned colleges at the time of admission.

The fee for Medical courses in Govt/Aided/KAU/KVASU/KUFOS college are as follows. MBBS-Rs.25000/-; BDS: Rs.23000/-; BAMS- Rs.12000/-; BHMS- Rs.2087/-; BVSc & AH- Rs.9900/- (semester); BSc Agriculture and B.Sc.(Hons) Forestry: 9000/(Semester); Bachelor of Fisheries Science- Rs.2125/-(Semester).

At Academy of Medical Sciences, Pariyaram, Kannur, 50% seats would be allotted by the CEE as Government seats. 10 seats for BPL Group would carry a fee of Rs.25,000/, 13 seats for SEBC, a fee of Rs.45,000/- and the rest a fee of Rs.1,50,000/-. Here too, those eligible for concession fee would be identified, only after the allotments are completed. Hence candidates should remit the full fee at the time of joining the college. The 35% Management seats in this college is not being allotted by the CEE.

In respect of the four Private Self Financing Medical Colleges and one Private Self Financing Dental College under Kerala Catholic Medical College Management association, the fee in 50% Government seats would be Rs.4,00,000/- for MBBS and Rs.3,00,000/- for BDS. Management will set apart for MBBS, a sum of Rs. 40 lakhs for a batch of 100 MBBS students and for BDS, a sum of Rs. 14 lakhs for a batch of 50 BDS students to be provided as scholarship after the completion of admission process.

In Govt. Controlled Self Financing Dental College (Pariyaram Dental College, Pariyaram, Kannur), the fee would be Rs.23,000/- for BPL Group (6 seats), Rs.44,000/- for SEBC(8 seats) and Rs.1,20,000/ for others. Those eligible for concession fee would be identified, only after the allotments are completed. Hence candidates should remit the full fee at the time of joining the college.

For engineering courses, the Tuition Fee Waiver Scheme for 5% of the total intake as supernumerary seats will be implemented as per the norms fixed by the AICTE. Allotment to such seats shall be made by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations along with the first round of allotment.

Those included in the rank lists for Kerala Medical /Engineering/Architecture courses2014 can register their options at from 17.06.2014 to 5 pm on 23.06.2014. Candidates who do not register their options within the stipulated time will not be considered for allotment under any circumstances. Trial allotment will be on 20.06.2014. First allotment will be announced on 25.06.2014. Candidates allotted to all courses have to remit the fee shown in the allotment memo at selected branches of State Bank of Travancore (SBT) between 26.06.2014 and 03.07.2014. Candidates allotted to MBBS/BDS courses alone should join the respective colleges between 27.06.2014 and 03.07.2014.. Candidates allotted to all other courses need not join the colleges at this point.

The list of colleges included in the first allotment is given in the notification at Option Facilitation Centres (OFC) and Help Desks (HD), having internet facility, will be functioning throughout the State during the period of option registration for providing necessary help to the candidates for registration of options.

The details of such centers are available at


Success Mantra

university news
upcoming events
campus placement
Upcoming Events