UG Engg. under DASA: Apply from April 1

Mathrubhumi Education Online


Kochi: Applications have been invited from Foreign Nationals/Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs)/Non-Resident Indians (NRIs)/ Overseas Citizen of India by National Institute of Technology Srinagar Hazratbal, Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir for admissions under Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) Scheme of Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) to various Undergraduate programmes in Engineering/Architecture for the Academic year 2016-17 at NITs, IIITs, SPAs and Other Centrally Funded & Premier Technical Institutes.

Participating Institutions
A. National Institutes of Technology (NITs):
1 National Institute of Technology, Agartala, Tripura
2 Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
3 National Institute of Technology, Arunachal Pradesh
4 Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
5 National Institute of Technology, Calicut, Kerala
6 National Institute of Technology, Delhi
7 National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, West Bengal
8 National Institute of Technology, Goa
9 National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh
10 Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur, Rajasthan
11 National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar, Punjab
12 National Institute of Technology, Jamshedpur, Jharkhand
13 National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra, Haryana
14 National Institute of Technology, Manipur
15 National Institute of Technology, Mizoram
16 Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur
17 National Institute of Technology, Patna , Bihar
18 National Institute of Technology, Puducherry, Karaikkal
19 National Institute of Technology, Raipur , Chhattisgarh
20 National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, Orissa
21 National Institute of Technology, Sikkim
22 National Institute of Technology, Silchar, Assam
23 National Institute of Technology, Srinagar
24 Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat, Gujarat
25 National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, Karnataka
26 National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, Tamilnadu
27 National Institute of Technology, Warangal, Telangana
28 National Institute of Technology, Meghalaya
B. Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs):
29 Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad, (Jhalwa & Amethi Campus), Uttar Pradesh
30 ABV-Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
31 Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
32 Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design & Manufacturing, Kancheepuram, Chennai

C. Schools of Planning and Architecture (SPAs):
33 School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal
34 School of Planning and Architecture, Delhi
35 School of Planning & Architecture, Vijayawada

D. Other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions:
36 PEC University of Technology, Chandigarh
37 Delhi Technological University, Delhi
38 Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology Delhi
39 Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology, Longowal, Punjab
40 National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology, Ranchi, Jharkhand
41 Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar
42 National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology, Aurangabad
43 Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology Delhi

Age Only applicants born on or after October 01, 1991 are eligible. Date of birth as recorded in the Secondary Education Board / University Certificate [Class X or equivalent] or any certificate issued by the Government authorities only will be taken as authentic.

Applicant must have passed the qualifying examination, i.e. Senior Secondary [10+2] or equivalent [See Appendix-I] from any system of education as recognized by the Association of Indian Universities ( AND Applicant should have completed successfully Mathematics, Physics and one of the subjects from (Chemistry, Bio-technology, Computer Science, Biology) in 11thAND / OR 12th, as applicable in the respective boards. AND Applicant must have secured a minimum of at least 60% aggregate marks (average of all subjects of qualifying examination taken together) or 6.50 CGPA (on a 10 point scale) or equivalent in the qualifying examination. In case, CGPA on a different scale is awarded OR if only grades are awarded, percentage/CGPA equivalence provided by the principal examination authorities will only be considered. Applicants appearing for the qualifying examination with the above-mentioned subjects in the academic year 2015-16 and expecting their final results latest by September 15, 2016 may also apply. AND Applicant should have a minimum total valid score of 1440 in SAT Subject Tests (Subjects: Mathematics Level 2, Physics and Chemistry). SAT subject test score has to be sent directly through College Board to NIT Srinagar (Institute Code: 7283). Internet downloaded score cards are not acceptable. Applicants at the time of registration for SAT Subject Tests should indicate Institute code 7283 for sending their scores to NIT Srinagar. Applicants who have taken multiple attempts in SAT Subject Tests can send valid score to NIT Srinagar directly through College Board USA. The best valid score in each subject will be considered for arriving at the total score which will be used for merit list preparation.SAT Subject Test scores received till 1st June, 2016 only will be considered for preparation of merit lists for Round 1, Round 2 and Round 3.

Residential Requirement
Candidates must be Foreign Nationals/ Persons of Indian Origin who have completed the qualifying examination in any country (including India) OR Indian Nationals studying abroad. In case of Indian Nationals, they must have completed their 11th and 12th standard or equivalent from outside India

Application Fee payment
A total amount of US$ 4300[US Dollars Four thousand three hundred only] is required to be paid along with the application form. This is towards non-refundable registration fee of US$ 300 [US Dollars Three hundred only] and first semester Tuition Fee of US$ 4000 [US Dollars Four thousand only] Foreign Nationals, who are nationals of SAARC countries, are eligible for 50% Tuition Fee waiver provided they have passed the qualifying examination in SAARC countries. They are required to pay an amount of US$ 2,300 [US Dollars Two thousand and three hundred only] along with the application form (i.e. US$ 2,000 towards first semester tuition fee and a non refundable registration fee of US$300).

Applicants from Nepal and Bhutan can pay their fees either in US Dollars or in Equivalent Indian Rupees (if payment is made from banks in Nepal or Bhutan). However, in case of Rupee payment they are required to get Exchange Rate Certificate from the bankers and submit the same along with the application form.

Submission of Application
The submission of application is a two step process, both are essential.
a. Online application ( and submission of required documents online (scanned and uploaded). No hard copy of application or supporting documents needs to be sent.
b. SAT subject test score to be sent to NIT Srinagar through College Board, USA (Institute Code 7283)
Last date for Submission of completed application form along with required fee and supporting documents at DASA website is 23:59HRS (IST) June 01, 2016.

Important Dates:
Submission of Online application April 01 to June 01, 2016
Last date for receipt of SAT Subject Test Score June 01, 2016


Success Mantra

university news
upcoming events
campus placement
Upcoming Events